Module 2

 

My video discusses how the modern age has transformed how we use surveillance in everyday life as a tool to further ourselves socially and to make fast decisions to save time.

I argued that surveillance techniques such as ‘Facebook stalking’ has become acceptable and is a social norm. That surveillance is no longer difficult, and involves little effort and sometimes is don’t without much thought due to the easy access to internet sites where people share their identities ad anyone can view them.

I put surveillance in the social context because I think surveillance has evolved over the years to follow technology and technology has changed the way we communicate. Surveillance has changed purposes though and become an activity undertaken by social networking users who ‘stalk’ online.

I found that my readings were helpful in understanding surveillance particularly online but I decided to take a different approach than most reading and looked at it from a social networking angle.

Gilbert Caluya in his 2001 article The Post Panoptic Society was useful when explaining the power behind surveillance in a social situation. It allows for fast and easy introductions to ones online identity prior to a first meeting with someone. I found the article backed up my idea of power belonging to those who understand the terms and conditions and those who use privacy settings online as it took the power away from the surveyor by taking away the information that without the privacy settings would have been easily accessed.

I referenced David Lyon’s 2006 article, Theorizing Surveillance as it gave me a thorough understanding of how surveillance has changed everyday life and become routine. I was able to use it to explain why I think surveillance has evolved and become an easily accessible activity in online social networking by backing up my ideas with Lyons theory. I used Lyons theory to explain why I think the social medium is being influenced by surveillance techniques.

I referenced Kevin Haggerty’s article The New Politics of Surveillance as it backed up my idea of a changing world due to surveillance. Haggerty explains surveillance is going to pose some of the most ‘prominent questions’ of modern times, this is something I discuss in my video, through questioning the acceptability of the use of surveillance both for social and security reasons.

 

I began my film with humor as I found this funny when done in lectures and YouTube videos. I like the idea of humor with information because it makes the information more memorable for an audience. I used humor to make the video entertaining and appealing, so it someone is surveying me they will find something out about me when watching it.

 

When writing, filming and editing this video I found it difficult for personal reasons. I took a long time to be able to put myself in from of the camera. I learnt that the camera isn’t as scary as I thought and it can be used to make assignments more creative. I found that remembering the script was a difficult task and have new respect for newsreaders and lecturers. This exercise was tough, and it challenged my mental toughness but I managed after a few tears when trying to publish my iMovie and then when it got deleted when iMovie crashed while I was trying to upload it the somehow getting it back and then trying to try to upload it to YouTube and trying to upload it to the blog. This was a tough assignment but I think it has thought me about video editing and patience, but overall I learnt the most about surveillance and how its effects people in everyday life.

 

 

 

References

Images:

CCTV Facebook image,

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/GTZJjq9q4pk/U7uVi3iqxII/AAAAAAAAAPE/QBkJgabuqzs/s1600/social-network-surveillance1.png

all other images were my own

Articles and Readings

Caluya, G 2010, ‘The post-panoptic society? Reassessing Foucault in surveillance studies’, Social Identities, vol. 16, no. 5, September, pp. 621-633 (journal article available via library catalogue).

Lyon, d, 2006, Theorizing Surveillance, Routledge, London, pg. 2, 4

Haggerty, K, 2006, The New politics of surveillance, University of Toronto Press Incorporated, Canada,

 

 

Fillmed

 

Darryl Stranger

contact: Darryl.stranger@gmail.com

 

Lily Pryn

contact: LillyPilly19966@hotmail.co

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

